"The only tears you should cry, cry laughing"
~Laugh So You Don't Cry by Andy Davis
Esta es la vida - That's life ... I knew I would lose my princess while I was in Costa Rica; I just had this sad feeling of the cold truth in my heart that she was getting old and having such a hard time walking. I was scared that when I was leaving and saying goodbye that it would be our final goodbye, and sure enough, she ended up being the one leaving me. I agree, dogs are man's best friend, because my Holly was my little baby girl pup since I was nine. I was always convinced that if she were a human, she would have been a prissy and dainty girl - she loved being cozy, curled up and asleep near a fireplace or sprawled out in the sun. She would have made a great model because she especially loved posing for pictures, or so I believed - she was a natural. I would know, I have more pictures of her than probably anyone or anything else in the world. She was such a doll, and now she's a star in the sky like my mom said, looking down over us. So I don't get to return to her like I had hoped, and so it goes, that's life.. princesses all have to leave us at one time or another, they've got bigger and better places to go where they can be eternally beautiful.
"I finally got out
I looked at the world to see
In your eyes I figured it out
what took you away from me
I know daisies never bloom inside of a room
There's nothing left for me to do
I'm free like you
Six feet under"
~6 ft Under by the Woods
"But I don't think my heart's ever let me down
And I still cry because I can't always have it my way,
And sometimes crying can help you out.
Sing it aloud, sing it aloud,
and scream, shred your lungs I need to hear you louder now,
and sing, as if you'll never sing again.
And when the morning comes and your throat is sore,
You'll face the day like you did before,
With a smile on in the end."
***********************
I'm convinced that no matter what's going on in my life, I always have a soundtrack that I live by and it is constantly changing each day. Sometimes I can't really tell, though, if I put songs to what's going on around me and how I'm feeling, or if I adapt how I'm feeling and how I respond to what's going on around me based on the music I'm listening to. It depends, I suppose. Supposedly Travis and Nick, two of the other student teachers here, are putting together a soundtrack of Costa Rica based on their memories here - what a good idea. Music is probably one of the best ways to capture and keep memories alive, aside from photographs. If there's one thing I need in life, it's music - it's my healer for when I don't feel well; it's my dance partner whether I'm alone or not; it's my epiphany-generator and outlet for expression; it wakes me up in the morning and puts me to bed at night... it does so many things that I can't possibly list them all. Anyway, thank you music for being so amazing, I don't know what I'd do without ya (I suppose a giant "thank you" to everyone who makes music, would be appropriate, too.. especially my dad who not only makes music, but keeps it alive by passing it on to his students and everyone around him).
Another thank you!!! to Lisa K. for all of the new music you have shared with me - music is the best gift :)
Yesterday I don't think I could have asked for a better half-birthday celebration. 1.) I got to celebrate it in Costa Rica ... which is the main reason I decided to celebrate it actually, just so I could say that... 2.) I got to sleep in, work out in the gorgeous weather, go to my favorite cafe, go to an art museum, have a picnic outside and watch little kids chase birds around, go to a movie (even though it ended horribly), and I went out dancing with friends ... okay that's more than 2 things but I didn't feel like putting all those numbers in there. It doesn't matter how many things I did, it just matters that it was an excellent day.. even though I'm not officially 22 1/2 until Monday, but still. And by the way, yes, I realize that I sound very childish saying that I'm 22 1/2, but I'm pretty proud of it and I generally just like coming up with reasons to celebrate.
Something I've learned, and advise others to do: Make friends with the person sitting next to you on the bus. (Of course you can apply this to other places, too, like if you're in a long line or something). Or at least just say hi. That seems so blatantly obvious, but anyone who knows me knows that I can be shy especially when I first meet someone - put me in a situation where I am sitting next to a complete stranger for a long bus ride, then add the fact that this person speaks a language I'm still practicing, then it only adds to my shyness... it also makes for some awkward moments, which I actually kind of find amusing now. So when a Tican girl about my age sat down next to me on the bus home from Puerto Viejo I probably would have been fine to come up with something to say now that I'm feeling more confident speaking in Spanish... except that there's one more thing: I literally thought I was going to die of thirst. I have never been so thirsty in my life. I left a day earlier than the guys and came straight from the beach, just in time to make it to my bus, but not enough time to buy more water. I felt so awkward sitting there staring out the window trying to think of how I was going to last 4 hours longer with no water when I realized I could just ask the girl sitting next to me. I didn't want to be rude and have that be the first thing I said to her, I had to become her friend first, and then ask her for water... did she even have water? So I tried not to make it obvious, but I kept sneaking glances to see if she did. Maybe I would have just started talking to her first in other circumstances, but I couldn't think because I was just that thirsty. I thought that if I could just get some water, then I would be able to properly communicate with this girl, but wait, in order to possibly get my water, I'd have to talk to her first... what a vicious little circle. You have no idea how awkward this was sitting next to a girl I didn't know for probably about half an hour without saying a single word and no eye contact, nothing, just sitting there right next to each other. Finally we had a moment where we almost looked at each other at the same time, but then we both looked away, and then I decided that it was really lame of us, I'm just going to get it over with or this is going to be an extremely long ride. So I faced my tired and dizzy head right at her (probably looking like I was drunk) and literally just said a big, "Hola". That was it, it was all I could come up with at the time.. how original. She looked at me and giggled an "hola" back, which made me smile and ask (stupidly) if she was from Costa Rica to which she giggled a "si". And that was that. I turned my head and continued to stare out the window thinking of how lame I was but glad that I at least broke the ice... mmm ice.. I was still dying of thirst and obviously still felt bad for asking her for water after that weird, initial hola. After a few minutes she thought of a couple other get-to-know-you questions. It went on like that for probably another half an hour, saying a couple sentences, and then looking out the window, repeat. At one point she listened to her i-pod for a little bit and I was enjoying her music, and then told her so after she put it away.. but I think she was embarrassed that she was playing it loud enough for me to hear. And I still couldn't ask her for the water. Finally, the bus stopped at a rest stop; she asked if I needed to get out of the bus and I ran off the bus, never more excited to buy a bottle of water. When I sat back down next to her, I tried to savor my water and drink it casually... I think it was gone in under three minutes. A little bit later it was too dark to read or stare out the window, but then this girl (her name was Estezi), got out her i-pod again... and she asked if I wanted to listen with her. The shy me didn't know if I should accept or not, but if I didn't, then she'd probably think I was mocking her earlier when I said I liked her music... and I really did want to listen anyway. So I mustered out an "ok" and put the earphone in and there we sat for about the rest of the way home. No words were needed, we just snuggled up to this Spanish music playing in our ears. I had an epiphany (remember, music makes that happen) and I thought that we could have spent the whole bus ride in complete silence, feeling too shy or too cool to say hi to each other... but really, that was all it took: hola. Two girls who had just met randomly on the bus sharing headphones blaring out these Spanish love songs, probably both of us thinking about the guys in our lives who made us feel the same. I felt like I was sitting there curled up with Sarah or Gussy, two of my amazing friends. So I guess there's just one more reason why I love music so much... and that's probably reason enough to love it.
For a complete change of subject, I just want to throw it out there that I'm on umbrella number 4 - that's four umbrellas in the course of two and a half months. It's absolutely crucial to have an umbrella in CR, which is why I spent so much time picking out the perfect umbrella before I came here. It was lime green with light blue polka dots - I wanted to be different and bring some color on rainy days. Well, it got stolen after four days of being here.. which is what I get for spending too much time on picking it out. So then my Aunt Kathy let me keep hers since she was with me when it got stolen and she was leaving the country anyway. It was a nice dark green umbrella, no problem. And it got left somewhere in Manuel Antonio. Okayyy so then my dad gave me his lovely umbrella, but by lovely, I mean very cheap (haha its okay dad) but yes, it lasted a few weeks, and then decided it didn't like its job anymore. I finally purchased an umbrella after a couple days of trying to tough it out in the rain - not a bright idea by the way. I made sure not to spend toooo much time on picking it out, (unfortunately I didn't see a brightly colored one, just dark blue with some kinda pattern on it) but I had to make sure it wasn't overly priced and would at least be durable enough to last 6 weeks for me. Wish my umbrella and me luck, we'll probably need it :)
One more thing for now: I've always thought and told my mom that she is one of my best friends - and it remains true; I have a good amount of wonderful friends but my mom is just one of the best of the best. It's funny though, because at the same time I identify myself as a Daddy's Girl. As I'm reading this book he gave me to read, I can't help but acknowledge how lucky I am - he's right, he HAD to have written this book, because he is almost identical to the author (Randy Pausch - The Last Lecture).. except that I'm fortunate to have him in my life longer than Randy's children got to have him in their lives. I'm getting towards the end of this book and Randy, who is dying of cancer writes that he wants his 18 month old daughter to know that he was the first man to ever fall in love with her. My dad highlighted this part (as I told him to highlight parts in the book that he especially liked) and wrote a note to me saying that he has always felt the same way. I've gotten so good at keeping my emotions at check and I hardly ever cry, no matter how choked up I am - but he got me. I think all girls need to hear this from their dads because as guys come in and out of our lives, we wait and wait for the right guy to become head over heels in love with us; a guy who not only promises to always love us, but who actually proves it with his actions.. we wait, but really, this guy has been there all along. Clearly it's a different kind of love, but I think the waiting for the other guy becomes a little bit easier when you know how much love you already have.